Shrimp Scampi

I am always asking Brig for dinner ideas that include Shrimp or Chicken because those are the meats that I always keep on hand. When he told me Shrimp Scampi would be good, I had never heard of it! HA! I decided to give it a try and see what it was all about. The recipe seemed too simple and I was worried it wouldn’t be flavorful enough. I was wrong! I made it tonight and am sold! πŸ™‚

IMG_9095

Shrimp Scampi
recipe adapted fromΒ here

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb large shrimp, cleaned and de-veined, tail-on
  • 3 TbspΒ avocado oil or olive oil
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced or 1 1/2 tsp minced garlic
  • 1/4 tspΒ red pepper flakes
  • 3 TbspΒ organic salted butter
  • 1/3 cup white wine vinegar
  • 2 tbs chopped parsley
  • 1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
  • Sea salt to taste
  • 1 lb spaghetti

Directions:

  1. Heat oil & butter in skillet on medium heat. Add garlic and sautΓ© for 1 minute.
  2. Add shrimp, white wine vinegar, and red pepper flakes. Stir until coated.
  3. Cook on medium heat for 5 minutes. Turn over shrimp and cook for another 2 minutes or until all shrimp are cooked on both sides.
  4. Turn off heat and add black pepper and parsley (I did not add because I didn’t have any).
  5. Stir and add lemon juice and salt.
  6. Serve on top of spaghetti.
Leave a Reply

